World Endurance Championship |

2021 8 Hours of Bahrain

Spread the love

There’s no disputing that to be the champion one has to remain the champion, simply remaining consistent. The just concluded 8 Hours of Bahrain known formerly as 6 hours of Bahrain has its champions, the Toyota Gazoo Racing team precisely car #7: Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez are keeping their lead in FIA world endurance championship.

This year’s win at Bahrain International Circuit in Sakhir, Bahrain marks car #7, Toyota Gazoo Racing team: Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez 3rd consecutive win since 2019 – 2021. At the Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans, Sarthe, France, in June 2021, car #7 of Toyota Gazoo Racing team won the 24 hours of Le Mans for the first time after three years.

The World Endurance Championship, WEC, 8 hours of Bahrain was epic with 31 cars- 3 hypercars: 2 Toyota GR010 Hybrid, Alpine A480; 11 LMP2 cars: Oreca 07; 4 LMGTE PRO cars: 2 Ferrari 488 GTE EVO and 2 Porsche 911 RSR – 19; 13 LMGTE AM cars: 3 Aston Martin Vantage AMR, 6 Porsche 91 RSR – 19 and 4 Ferrari 488 GTE EVO. First time use of the hypercar category replacing the LMP 1 car category with a win in both Le Mans 24 and 8 hours of Bahrain.

The Toyota Gazoo Racing team had the 1-2 position,just the same way it finished the 24 hours of Le Mans race with Conway, Kamui and Lopez in 1st place and its sister team car #8 with Sebastien Buemi, Kazuki Nakajima and Brendon Hartley in 2nd place 50 seconds behind. Alpine A480 car #36 finished 3rd place, 1 lap behind for the hypercar category.

LMP2 (Le Mans Prototype 2) category, my personal favorite all female team, car #1 Mille Richard Racing: Sophia Flörsch, Beitkse Visser and Gabriel Aubry finished 9th place and 6th in LMP2 category. 1st and 2nd place by Oreca 7- Gibson teams: Robin Frijns, Ferdinand Habsburg, Charles Milesi, and Sean Gelael, Stoffel Vandoorne, Tom Blomquist. Ferdinand Habsburg started as the first driver for the first with Robin Frijns and Charles Milesi finishing in 2nd position in Le Mans Prototype 2 category.

At a point during, the back panel of an Aston Martin Vantage pulled off during the race and the Oreca 07 team, car #21 in the LMP2 category, left tire rolled off the wheel finishing the race in 30th position. The endurance race is mainly all about the tires basically the tires ability to withstand various temperatures without wear or tear.

Porsche GT team secured the 1-2 position in the LMGTE PRO category with their Porsche 911 RSR- 19 driven by Kevin Estre and Neel Javi, Gianmaria Bruni and Richard Lietz.

In the LMGTE AM category, Aston Martin Vantage AMR driven by Ben Keating, Dylan Pereira and Felipe Fraga finished 1st place and 17th overall. Christain Ried, Jaxon Evans and Matt Campbell finished 2nd place and 18th place overall.

What’s left would be the season finale with the season’s favorite Mike Conway, Kamui Kobayashi and Jose Maria Lopez hopeful in their Toyota GR010 hybrid in Bahrain II race November 6, 2021.

2 thoughts on “2021 8 Hours of Bahrain”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *